Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Winner of the Inventor of the Year Award 2019 : Dr. Bellur S. Prabhakar

Bellur S. Prabhakar. Msc. PhD
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Department of Ophthalmology
Interim Senior Associate Dean for Research
Associate Dean for Technological Innovation and Training

Bellur S. Prabhakar

Dr. Bellur Prabhakar has spent over 30 years dedicated to autoimmune diseases and oncology, focused not only on increasing our understanding of the basic science and mechanistic questions and issues, but also developing novel, broad based clinical applications aimed at improving human health. Dr. Prabhakar had two notable, successful industry collaborations in which a mAb to treat SARS infection and a vaccine carrier platform were developed with Amgen and Nanodisc, respectively. He also demonstrated successful translation and commercialization with a type-1 diabetes project that was licensed to Tolerogenics and a VA Merit awarded oncology project that is licensed and in pre-clinical development by Jivana Therapeutics. Dr. Prabhakar’s most recent project on targeting OX40L/JAG1 to treat autoimmune diseases has received funding through the University of Illinois Chancellor’s Innovation Fund Proof of Concept Award, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, and Sirazi Foundation. Dr. Prabhakar has founded Sahane Biotech and is currently seeking STTR funding to advance this project for treatment of diabetes, cancer, and lupus. His passion and dedication for translational research has yielded 49 patent applications and his innovative contributions culminate in this well-deserved recognition of Inventor of the Year.