Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Four UIC faculty win round one of the CBC accelerator award.


Congratulations to Dr. Arnon Lavie, Dr. Brian Layden, Dr. Shiva Shahara, and Dr. Yulia Komarova, winners of the first round of Chicago Biomedical Consortium Accelerator Awards.   These awards are offered to tenured or tenure-track faculty with research programs at University of Illinois – Chicago, Northwestern University, or University of Chicago.  The purpose of these awards is to support translational research and to provide researchers with early guidance in bringing a therapeutic, an associated biomarker, or diagnostic  from the lab bench to the clinic.

This year, 32 letters of Intent were submitted, of which nine were selected to move on to the next round.  The winners will each receive a $100,000 award to fund initial milestones.   Projects that have met their proposed milestones in the first year may apply for an additional $150,000.

Let us say another thank you to the four UIC faculty members who are moving on to the next round.